Sports Broadcasting

2024’s baseball season season is upon us! New play-by-players are coming on!


  • The big move of the offseason is Jason Benetti leaving his TV play-by-play job with the Chicago White Sox for the same role with the division rival Detroit Tigers. Benetti, who also calls games for Fox, replaces Matt Shepard, who was let go after five seasons with the team.
  • To fill Benetti’s role, the White Sox selected John Schriffen, a multi-sport announcer with ESPN. Schriffen, once a pitcher at Dartmouth College, joins Houston’s Robert Ford and Seattle’s Dave Sims as Black full-time play-by-play announcers in the major leagues.
  • Bob Carpenter, who has called Washington Nationals games on TV since 2006, announced he will cut down his schedule this year to primarily road games and retire after the 2025 season. Field reporter Dan Kolko will call the games that Carpenter misses.
  • The Oakland Athletics fired TV announcer Glen Kuiper in May of 2023 after an on-air comment. This season, they hired Colorado Rockies studio host Jenny Cavnar, who is the first woman to hold a team’s primary play-by-play job. Cavnar will call most of the team’s road games and a partial home schedule, while 24-year-old Chris Caray of Double-A Amarillo will do most of the home games. Last year’s interim voices, Vince Cotroneo and Johnny Doskow, will remain with the A’s on radio.
  • Beyond the fourth-generation Caray, there will be other members of famous baseball broadcasting families in the majors this year. Chris Garagiola, grandson of Joe, replaces the retiring Greg Schulte as the radio voice of the Arizona Diamondbacks. Garagiola, 32, called the road games for the previous two years when Schulte, the team’s original radio play-by-play man, cut down his schedule.
  • North of the border, 23-year-old Ben Shulman is the new radio play-by-play announcer for the Toronto Blue Jays, where father Dan holds the same job on television. Shulman the Younger was a backup announcer for the team for parts of two seasons. He replaces the fired Ben Wagner, who will join the Baltimore Orioles’ broadcast team in a variety of roles.
  • Joining Shulman in the analyst chair is former Major League pitcher Chris Leroux, 39, a native of Mississauga, Ontario. Previously, Wagner and Shulman were joined by a rotating cast of Sportsnet personalities.
  • Longtime Tigers radio analyst Jim Price died in August of 2023 at the age of 81. Former University of Michigan baseball star Bobby Scales is the new primary radio analyst and will work mostly on the road, while former Tigers outfielder Andy Dirks will do most of the home games.
  • On television, TBS lead analyst Jeff Francoeur will step back from his role with the Atlanta Braves, citing a desire to spend more time with his family. Francoeur will still work a handful of Braves games, but the new color commentator is Texas Rangers analyst C.J. Nitkowski, who pitched for the Braves in 2004.
  • The Rangers will fill Nitkowski’s role by committee, with former Rangers David Murphy, Dave Valle, and Mike Bacsik Jr. rotating in the seat.
  • The contract for Peacock’s “MLB Sunday Leadoff” package has not been renewed for 2024 as of this moment.

While most teams use a wide variety of announcers, listed below are the most frequent commentator pairings for the 2024 season:

Baseball has 30 teams:


TV: Steve Berthiaume, Bob Brenly

Radio: Chris Garagiola, Tom Candiotti


TV: Brandon Gaudin, C.J. Nitkowski

Radio: Ben Ingram, Joe Simpson (split PxP)


TV: Kevin Brown or Melanie Newman, Jim Palmer or Ben McDonald

Radio: Geoff Arnold, Brett Hollander or Ben Wagner (split PxP)


TV: Dave O’Brien, Kevin Youkilis or Lou Merloni

Radio: Joe Castiglione, Will Flemming (split PxP)

Chicago Cubs

TV: Jon “Boog” Sciambi or Pat Hughes, Jim Deshaies

Radio: Pat Hughes or Zach Zaidman, Ron Coomer

Chicago White Sox

TV: John Schriffen, Steve Stone

Radio: Len Kasper, Darrin Jackson


TV: John Sadak, Chris Welsh or Barry Larkin

Radio: Tommy Thrall, Jeff Brantley (split PxP)


TV: Matt Underwood, Rick Manning

Radio: Tom Hamilton, Jim Rosenhaus (split PxP)


TV: Drew Goodman, Jeff Huson or Ryan Spilborghs

Radio: Jack Corrigan, Jerry Schemmel (split PxP)


TV: Jason Benetti or Dan Dickerson, Craig Monroe

Radio: Dan Dickerson or Greg Gania, Bobby Scales


TV: Todd Kalas, Geoff Blum

Radio: Robert Ford, Steve Sparks (split PxP)

Kansas City

TV: Ryan Lefebvre, Rex Hudler

Radio: Denny Matthews or Jake Eisenberg, Steve Stewart (split PxP)

Los Angeles Angels

TV: Wayne Randazzo or Matt Vasgersian, Mark Gubicza

Radio: Terry Smith, Mark Langston

Los Angeles Dodgers

TV: Joe Davis or Stephen Nelson, Orel Hershiser

Radio: Charley Steiner or Tim Neverett, Rick Monday


TV: Paul Severino, Tommy Hutton or Rod Allen

Radio: Kyle Sielaff, Jeff Nelson or Gaby Sanchez


TV: Brian Anderson or Jeff Levering, Bill Schroeder

Radio: Bob Uecker or Lane Grindle, Josh Maurer (split PxP)


TV: Cory Provus, Justin Morneau or Roy Smalley

Radio: Kris Atteberry, Dan Gladden (split PxP)

New York Mets

TV: Gary Cohen, Keith Hernandez or Ron Darling

Radio: Howie Rose, Keith Raad (split PxP)

New York Yankees

TV: Michael Kay or Ryan Ruocco, David Cone or Paul O’Neill

Radio: John Sterling, Suzyn Waldman


TV: Jenny Cavnar or Chris Caray, Dallas Braden

Radio: Ken Korach, Vince Cotroneo or Johnny Doskow (split PxP)


TV: Tom McCarthy, John Kruk or Ben Davis

Radio: Scott Franzke, Larry Andersen or Kevin Stocker


TV and Radio: Greg Brown or Joe Block, Bob Walk or John Wehner

St. Louis

TV: Chip Caray, Brad Thompson or Jim Edmonds

Radio: John Rooney, Ricky Horton (split PxP)

San Diego

TV: Don Orsillo or Jesse Agler, Mark Grant

Radio: Jesse Agler or Bob Scanlan, Tony Gwynn Jr.

San Francisco

TV: Duane Kuiper, Mike Krukow

Radio: Jon Miller, Dave Flemming (split PxP)


TV: Dave Sims, Mike Blowers

Radio: Rick Rizzs, Aaron Goldsmith (split PxP)

Tampa Bay

TV: Dewayne Staats, Brian Anderson

Radio: Andy Freed, Neil Solondz (split PxP)


TV: Dave Raymond, David Murphy or Dave Valle

Radio: Eric Nadel, Matt Hicks (split PxP)


TV: Dan Shulman, Buck Martinez or Joe Siddall

Radio: Ben Shulman, Chris Leroux


TV: Bob Carpenter or Dan Kolko, Kevin Frandsen

Radio: Charlie Slowes, Dave Jaegler (split PxP)




Play-by-play: Joe Davis, Adam Amin, Jason Benetti, Kevin Kugler, Kenny Albert

Analyst: John Smoltz, Adam Wainwright, Tom Verducci, A.J. Pierzynski, Eric Karros, Dontrelle WilliS


Play-by-play: Brian Anderson, Bob Costas, Don Orsillo

Analyst: Jeff Francoeur, Ron Darling


Play-by-play: Karl Ravech, Kevin Brown, Jon “Boog” Sciambi, Michael Kay, Sean McDonough

Analyst: David Cone, Eduardo Perez, Tim Kurkjian, Jessica Mendoza, Doug Glanville

Apple TV

Play-by-play: Wayne Randazzo, Alex Faust

Analyst: Dontrelle Willis, Ryan Spilborghs, Xavier Scruggs

MLB Network

Play-by-play: Bob Costas, Matt Vasgersian, Melanie Newman

Analyst: Dan Plesac, Tom Verducci, Yonder Alonso, Mark DeRosa, CC Sabathia, Chris Young


Jake Baskin

Jake Baskin is a graduate of Dean College who majored in sports broadcasting. He does play-by-play for Northeast Sports Network and previously wrote about hockey for various SB Nation blogs. He loves the history and evolution of sports broadcasting and dreams of being a national-level announcer.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments